CFP – Cognitive Modeling and Computational Linguistics 2015 (CMCL-2015)

2015 Workshop on Cognitive Modeling and Computational Linguistics (CMCL)
(CMCL 2015)


Cognitive Modeling and Computational Linguistics 2015 (CMCL-2015)

This workshop provides a venue for work in computational
psycholinguistics: the computational and mathematical modeling of
linguistic generalization, development, and processing. We invite
contributions that apply methods from computational linguistics to
problems in the cognitive modeling of any and all natural
language-related abilities.

The 2015 workshop will be co-located with NAACL-HLT and follows in the
tradition of earlier CMCL meetings at ACL 2010, ACL 2011,
NAACL-HLT 2012, ACL 2013, ACL 2014.

Scope and Topics

The workshop invites a broad spectrum of work in the cognitive science
of language, at all levels of analysis from sounds to discourse and on
both learning and processing. Topics include, but are not limited to:

* incremental parsers for diverse grammar formalisms
* derivations of quantitative measures of comprehension difficulty, or
predictions regarding generalization in language learning
* stochastic models of factors encouraging one production or interpretation
over its competitors
* models of semantic/pragmatic interpretation, including psychologically
realistic notions of word meaning, phrase meaning, composition, and
pragmatic inference
* models and empirical analysis of the relationship between mechanistic
psycholinguistic principles and pragmatic or semantic adaptation
* models of human language acquisition and/or adaptation in a changing
linguistic environment
* models of linguistic information propagation and language change in
communication networks
* models of lexical acquisition, including phonology, morphology, and
* psychologically motivated models of grammar induction or semantic learning

Submissions are especially welcomed that combine computational
modeling work with experimental or corpus data to test theoretical
questions about the nature of human language acquisition,
comprehension, and/or production.


This call solicits full papers reporting original and unpublished
research that combines cognitive modeling and computational
linguistics. Accepted papers are expected to be presented at the
workshop and will be published in the workshop proceedings. They
should emphasize obtained results rather than intended work, and
should indicate clearly the state of completion of the reported
results. A paper accepted for presentation at the workshop must not be
presented or have been presented at any other meeting with publicly
available proceedings. No submission should be longer than necessary, up
to a maximum 8 pages plus two additional pages containing references.

If essentially identical papers are submitted to other conferences or
workshops as well, this fact must be indicated at submission time.

To facilitate double-blind reviewing, submitted manuscripts should not
include any identifying information about the authors.

Submissions must be formatted using ACL 2015 submission guidelines at

Submission style templates are available at:

Contributions should be submitted in PDF via the submission site:

The submission deadline is 11:59PM Pacific Time on March 6, 2015.

Best Student Paper

The best paper whose first author is a student will receive the Best
Student Paper award. All accepted CMCL papers will be published
in the workshop proceedings as is customary at ACL conferences.

Important Dates

Submission deadline: 6 March 2015
Notification of acceptance: 24 March 2015
Camera-ready versions due: 3 April 2015
Workshop: June 4, 2015

Workshop Chairs

Tim O’Donnell
Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of
Technology, USA

Marten van Schijndel
Department of Linguistics, The Ohio State University, USA

Program Committee

Omri Abend, University of Edinburgh
Steven Abney, University of Michigan
Afra Alishahi, Tilburg University
Libby Barak, University of Toronto
Marco Baroni, University of Trento
Robert Berwick, MIT
Klinton Bicknell, Northwestern University
Christos Christodoulopoulos, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Alexander Clark, King’s College
Moreno Cocco, University of Lisbon
Jennifer Culbertson, George Mason University
Vera Demberg, Saarland University
Brian Dillon, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Micha Elsner, The Ohio State University
Naomi Feldman, University of Maryland
Alex Fine, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Bob Frank, Yale University
Michael Frank, Stanford University
Stefan Frank, Radboud University Nijmegen
Stella Frank, Edinburgh University
Ted Gibson, MIT
Sharon Goldwater, Edinburgh University
Carlos Gomez Gallo, Northwestern University
Noah Goodman, Stanford University
Thomas Graf, Stony Brook University
John Hale, Cornell University
Jeffrey Heinz, University of Delaware
Tim Hunter, University of Minnesota
Mark Johnson, Macquarie University
Frank Keller, University of Edinburgh
Shalom Lappin, King’s College
Roger Levy, UCSD
Pavel Logacev, Potsdam University
Titus von der Malsburg, UCSD
Rebecca Morley, The Ohio State University
Aida Nematzadeh, University of Toronto
Ulrike Pado, Hochschule fuer Technik, Stuttgart
Bozena Pajak, Northwestern University
Lisa Pearl, UC Irvine
Massimo Poesio, University of Essex
Ting Qian, Brown University
Roi Reichart, Technion University
David Reitter, Penn State University
William Schuler, The Ohio State University
Nathaniel Smith, University of Edinburgh
Ed Stabler, UCLA
Mark Steedman, University of Edinburgh
Patrick Sturt, University of Edinburgh
Colin Wilson, Johns Hopkins University
Alessandra Zarcone, Saarland University of Massachusetts
Jelle Zuidema, University of Amsterdam

Read more: